Discovery Dock: Mixed Reality 3D Sound Experience

DEVELOPMENT OF ALGORITHM-BASED COMPOSITIONS AND INTERACTIVE SOUNDSCAPES

Copyright Pictures: Peter Böhmer, Discovery Dock and WESOUND

In three sentences

The Discovery Dock is one of Hamburg’s most innovative attractions. Here, visitors explore the port of Hamburg in completely new ways via VR technology, projections and live simulations – in places they would usually have no access to. In close cooperation with the lead agency Demodern, we created a complex, yet immersive 3D sound experience for the tourist adventure.

Development & Production

We spent weeks roaming around Hamburg harbour with our 3D microphone array: we miked up hydraulic risers, climbed aboard container cranes and even teased the sheep on the dykes. All to record characteristic sounds of the harbour. Together with a series of musical motifs, these sounds form the golden thread of the exhibition.

The entrance area of the Discovery Dock lies at the centre of Hafen City, right opposite Steinway & Sons and alongside the Elbphilharmonie concert hall. As a tribute to these classical surroundings, visitors are greeted by Telemann’s Water Music in a special new arrangement for this setting. Recorded by a string quartet made up of musicians from various ensembles and interwoven with an elaborate 3D sound design, this aural experience takes visitors on a journey from the Landungsbrücken [landing piers] of St Pauli to the world of the exhibition: the harbour of today and the future.

One very special factor is the compositional algorithm we developed for the sound system in the space, an algorithm which constantly reinterprets the motifs and sounds anew – depending on shipping movements, tidal flow and visitor behaviour. Thus, every tour has its own acoustic fingerprint which makes the visit unique. The 50-channel 3D loudspeaker system creates an overwhelming soundscape – visitors have the feeling they are standing in a dry dock, the nature reserves or on one of the harbour’s container bridges.

Result

The interplay of state-of-the-art 3D sound technologies and specially developed compositional algorithms fashions a complex, powerful acoustic experience in the Discovery Dock and allows visitors to immerse themselves in the world of Hamburg harbour.

All in all, conceiving and realising the soundscape was a wonderfully challenging project. Thanks to excellent coordination with agency and client, along with our holistic planning concept, the Discovery Dock is now a shining example of acoustic design in multimedia spaces. Which makes us very proud!

Website: https://discovery-dock.de/?lang=en

Credits

  • Client: DuMont Media GmbH
  • Lead agency: Demodern GmbH
  • Sound agency: WESOUND GmbH
  • Film production: WESOUND GmbH / Case Film with footage from Demodern / The Marmalade
With the help of cutting-edge virtual reality technology, projections and real-time data, the audience at Discovery Dock gets to experience Hamburg’s harbour in a playful and interactive manner. Naturally, the listening experience is a central element. WESOUND managed to capture and technically transform the harbour’s sounds in a way that makes visiting the Discovery Dock a truly realistic harbour experience.

Susan Molzow, Morgenpost Verlag / DuMont Media, CEO

Awards

Services

Brand
Brand
Sound Design
Sound Design
WESOUND-icon_10-VR-AR-MR
VR / AR / MR
WESOUND

Video

Discovery Dock: Mixed Reality 3D Sound Experience

ENTWICKLUNG VON ALGORITHMUS-BASIERTEN KOMPOSITIONEN UND INTERAKTIVEN SOUNDSCAPES

Vimeo

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Vimeo.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

SEAT Musicathion

Copyright Fotos: Peter Böhmer, Discovery Dock und WESOUND

in drei Sätzen

Beim Discovery Dock handelt es sich um eine der innovativsten Attraktionen Hamburgs. Hier entdecken Besucher mittels VR-Technologie, Projektionen und Live-Simulationen den Hamburger Hafen neu – an Orten, zu denen sonst niemand Zutritt bekommt. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Leadagentur Demodern haben wir eine komplexe und eindringliche 3D Sound Experience für den Themenpark erschaffen.

Entwicklung & Produktion

Wir sind wochenlang mit unserem 3D Mikrofon-Array im Hamburger Hafen unterwegs gewesen: Wir haben Steiger mikrofoniert, wir sind auf Containerkräne geklettert, wir haben am Deich die Schafe schikaniert. Alles, um charakteristische Sounds des Hafens einzufangen. Diese Klänge bilden zusammen mit einer Reihe von musikalischen Motiven den akustischen roten Faden der Ausstellung.

Der Eingangsbereich des Discovery Docks liegt mitten in der Hafen City, gleich gegenüber Steinway & Sons, seitlich der Elbphilharmonie. Um diese klassische Umgebung zu würdigen, empfangen wir die Besucher mit einer von uns neu arrangierten Fassung von Telemanns „Wassermusik“. Eingespielt von einem Streichquartett aus Musikern verschiedener Ensembles und verwoben mit aufwändigem 3D Sound Design, nimmt dieses musikalische Hörspiel die Besucher mit auf eine Reise von den Landungsbrücken in die Ausstellungswelt: in den Hafen von heute und der Zukunft.

Eine besondere Rolle spielt unser eigens entwickelter Kompositionsalgorithmus für die Saalbeschallung: dieser Algorithmus interpretiert die Motive und Klänge immer neu; abhängig vom tatsächlichen Schiffsverkehr, Tidenhub und dem Verhalten der Gäste vor Ort. So erhält jeder Rundgang einen akustischen Fingerabdruck, der den Besuch einzigartig macht. Über unser 50-kanaliges 3D Lautsprecher-System entsteht ein überwältigendes Klangerlebnis – man wähnt sich tatsächlich im Trockendock, in den Naturschutzgebieten oder auf den Containerkränen Hamburgs.

Ergebnis

Mit modernsten 3D-Aufnahme- und Wiedergabetechnologien, sowie speziell entwickelten Kompositionsalgorithmen ist das Klangerlebnis im Discovery Dock komplex und eindringlich. Und es lässt die Besucher vollständig in die Hafenwelt eintauchen.

Insgesamt haben wir die Konzeption und Umsetzung des Hörerlebnisses unter sportlichsten Bedingungen geführt. Durch die hervorragende Abstimmung mit Agentur und Kunde sowie unsere ganzheitliche Planung ist das Discovery Dock zu einem Vorzeigeprojekt akustischer Gestaltung in multimedialen Erlebnisräumen geworden. Und darauf sind wir stolz!

Website: www.discovery-dock.de

Credits

  • Kunde: DuMont Media GmbH
  • Lead Agentur: Demodern GmbH
  • Sound Agentur: WESOUND GmbH
  • Filmproduktion: WESOUND GmbH
  • Case Film mit Footage von Demodern / The Marmalade
Mittels modernster Virtual Reality-Technologien, Projektionen und Echtzeitdaten erleben Besucher des Discovery Docks den Hamburger Hafen spielerisch und interaktiv. Das Hörerlebnis ist dabei natürlich ein zentrales Element. WESOUND ist es gelungen, die Klänge des Hafens so aufzufangen und technisch umzusetzen, dass ein Besuch im Discovery Dock zu einem wahrhaft detailgetreuen Hafenerlebnis wird.

Susan Molzow, Morgenpost Verlag / DuMont Media, Geschäftsführerin

Awards

Leistungen

Marke
Marke
Sound Design
Sound Design
Musik
Musik
WESOUND-icon_10-VR-AR-MR
VR / AR / MR
WESOUND